Help finding info on my GGF's Naturalization Record

Over 25 million Italians have emigrated between 1861 and 1960 with a migration boom between 1871 and 1915 when over 13,5 million emigrants left the country for European and overseas destinations.
the3rdMan

Help finding info on my GGF's Naturalization Record

Post by the3rdMan »

Hello all,

I'm new to this forum and appreciate that there is a resource like this for those looking into our Italian past!

Currently, I'm looking into claiming Italian citizenship via my Great Grandfather's bloodline. My grandfather, his son, recently passed away, and I thought it would be interesting to delve a bit deeper into my ancestry. From what I've found, my GGF was born in 1894 and immigrated to the USA in 1920. He married in 1925 and had my grandfather in 1930. This is where things get murky.

He was an artist, and I think he was proud of his heritage, and as a self-employed painter, I think he liked to promote his Italian heritage, at least that's what I can surmise. I'm assuming this, because for the 1930 and 1940 census, his wife indicated to the census taker that he had put in his 'First Papers' as indicated by the PA designation in the census. I know this isn't gospel, as many census records contained errors, but that's not the end of the story.

In my research, I found within the Connecticut index of Naturalization petitions roll, a scanned image of what looks like a small card dating his petition for naturalization in January of 1941. Unfortunately this is as far as I've gotten, but could someone tell me what exactly this means? Considering my GF was born in 1930, and a petition for my GGF naturalization occurred in 1941, is it safe to assume that my GGF didn't become an American citizen until well after my GF's birth?