Domenicucci Families of Abruzzo Region

Are you looking for an Italian surname? Do you need more information about your family heritage?
This is the right place to start your genealogy search.
Egyptian_Blue

Domenicucci Families of Abruzzo Region

Post by Egyptian_Blue »

I've been doing genealogy for a few years now, and I decided it was time to focus on my father's Italian relatives. I know very little about them, and most of the information I do have has been taken from various handwritten documents online and may very well be wrong. Here's what I do know:

My father and his siblings are Domenicuccis, and his father is Joseph Domenicucci (my grandfather). Joseph was born in the United States in Boston in 1929 to Francesca Sinacola and Antonio Domenicucci. Antonio was born in Italy in June 1894 (SSDI claims June 1, his WWII draft card says June 17, and my family says his birthday was June 13). Every source I have (family and documents) say he was born in L'Aquila, Abruzzo, Italy. He left Italy on December 23, 1913 from Naples and arrived in New York City on January 3, 1914. He died in April 1976 according to the SSDI.

And here I am left with questions. The ship manifest that I got the emigration dates from includes other information: height, destination, reading/writing ability, etc. - and father's name. I sort of guessed Antonio's father's name by looking up Italian names to fill in the blanks (the only letters I am confident about are "G" and "do" at the end) and have been going with Gerardo. In addition, nearly every source (including the ship's manifest) lists "Ortona" as his town of origin. The one contradiction to this is on his draft card which says "Ortona deimassi". This of course, does not exist, but "Ortona dei Marsi" does.