help finding wwi italian military record

Are you looking for an Italian surname? Do you need more information about your family heritage?
This is the right place to start your genealogy search.
Marsbar723

help finding wwi italian military record

Post by Marsbar723 »

I am new to genealogy and would greatly appreciate help finding some information on my family. My greatgrandfather Giovanni Saggiani was born september 7 1895 in dolce, (Verona) Italy. He served in wwi, as did his brother who died in the war. Upon returning home from war almost all his family and village had died of influenza. I can find his nationalization records to the U.S. in 1920 but nothing from Italy or of his war service. Does anyone have any advise?
Bette
Veteran
Veteran

Re: help finding wwi italian military record

Post by Bette »

Caterina05271899
Rookie
Rookie

Post by Caterina05271899 »

Hello,
You might try searching this forum for the string: Ruolo Matricolare
The enlistment and service record of Italian men.

A few months ago I was able to obtain a copy of my great-grandfather's (father's mother's father) Ruolo Matricolare. I simply sent an email to the ARCHIVIO DI STATO serving the province where my great grandfather was from.

Below is a sample of the email that I sent. Cut and paste it into Google-translate to see what it means in English and then fill in the blanks with your great grandfather's information.

I believe that you would send your email to:
as-vr@beniculturali.it
The 'as' is the abbreviation for Archivio di Stato; the 'vr' is the province abbreviation for Verona. When I sent my email I used 'rc' because my great grandfather lived in the provice Reggio di Calabria.

A few weeks after sending my email, I received a reply saying that the record had been found. However, first I had fill in a standard requst form and send 2 euros to the Archivo Di Stato in Italy. They provided the address in Italy.